Saturday 7 May 2016

Blues – blues-rock - r&b

In 2012, American supergroup Royal Southern Brotherhood released its self-titled debut album with music from all over the South: New Orleans funk, Atlanta hot Blues, and Memphis soul. Not surprising considering the band’s line-up. Frontman is New Orleans icon Cyril Neville who is known for his stints in the Grammy Award winning The Neville Brothers, Galactic, and The Meters. His career has spawned some 45 years and has included performances with music icons such as Bono, Joan Baez, and Dr. John. Drummer/percussionist Yonrico Scott, longtime member of The Derek Trucks Band and bassist Charlie Wooton make for a powerhouse rhythm section. Fiery guitar slinger Bart Walker from Nashville, winner of the 2012 International Blues Challenge’s Best Guitarist award, and Texas guitarist Tyrone Vaughan up the funk while maintaining the blues and rock edge that has brought the band a growing, worldwide audience. In 2015, the Royal Southern Brotherhood released the third studio album Don’t Look Back: the Muscle Shoals Sessions.